Are you going to be absent on Election Day or do you prefer to vote via a mailed ballot?
Do you prefer to vote in person prior to Election Day?
With new voting laws in effect, there will be No Excuse Early Voting beginning 45 days prior to an election. For the November 3, 2020 election, the office will be open for No Excuse Early Voting starting on Friday, September 18, 2020. Office hours will be as follows: Monday - Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., with the exception of October 19, 22, 26 and 29 we will be open from 9:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m. The office will also be open for voting from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. on the two Saturdays prior to Election Day.
Who can register to vote in Virginia?
Any United States citizen who resides in Virginia and who will be at least 18 years old by the next general election can register to vote. If you have been convicted of a felony, you must have had your rights restored by the Governor of Virginia before you register to vote. If you have been declared mentally incapacitated by a Circuit Court, you must have had your rights restored by the courts before you register to vote. If you are registered in another state, notify that state to have your name removed from the voter rolls.
How do I register?
An application may be obtained from the Voter Registration Office or online at https://www.elections.virginia.gov/registration/voter-forms/. Completed applications can be mailed to or dropped off at the Voter Registration Office or register online at https://vote.elections.virginia.gov/VoterInformation (You will need your social security number as well as your Virginia Driver’s License number for security purposes in order to complete the online registration.)
How can I find out if I'm registered?
Click on the "Check Registration Status" tab online at https://vote.elections.virginia.gov/VoterInformation and follow the prompts. You may also call our office at 434-985-5213 and ask us to verify that your information is accurate.
When may I register?
One may register throughout the year except for 21 days preceding a general or primary election, or 13 days preceding a special election.
How frequently do I have to register to vote?
You only need to register to vote once if you remain in Greene County at the same address. If your residence changes outside of Greene County or out of the Commonwealth of Virginia, you must register again in your new county or state. If you have not voted in two (2) Federal elections, your name may be purged from the system and you will have to re-register in order to vote.
What if my name changes or I change my address within Greene County?
The quickest way to make changes is by going to https://vote.elections.virginia.gov/VoterInformation. Follow the prompts in the "Register to Vote” tab.
When are the polls open on Election Day?
The polls open at 6:00 a.m. and close at 7:00 p.m. If you are in the line when the polls close, you will be allowed to vote.
What do I need to bring in order to vote?
Visit this link to see acceptable Voter ID’s: https://www.elections.virginia.gov/registration/photo-ids-required-to-vote/
Where will I vote in Greene County on Election Day?
Upon registering, the Registrar will send you a voter registration letter with the name of the precinct and the location of your polling place. On Election Day you must always vote in the precinct where you are registered. If you are unsure of where to vote, call the Registrar’s Office or see below.
Greene County is made up of 4 districts. (Monroe, Ruckersville, Stanardsville and Midway)
Monroe District – comprised of both Dyke and Swift Run Precincts
- Dyke Precinct- Dyke Fire Station - 9144 Dyke Road in Dyke
- Swift Run Precinct- Greene Technical Education Center - 10415 Spotswood Trail in Stanardsville
- Ruckersville Precinct- Ruckersville Fire Station - 50 Sassafras Lane in Ruckersville
- Stanardsville Precinct- PVCC Eugene Giuseppe Center - 122 Main Street in Stanardsville
- Midway Precinct- Ruckersville Elementary School - 105 Progress Place in Ruckersville